National Flag of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Country: Bosnia and Herzegovina

Proportions: 1:2
Bosnia and Herzegovina Flag Description:

The Bosnian flag consists of a blue base with seven, white five-pointed stars crossing the flag diagonally and vertically, and descending from left to right. Above and below the stars are two half stars. To the right of the stars lies a yellow isosceles triangle.

Advertiser Links
[what's this?]

Bosnia and Herzegovina Flag Meaning:
The three points of the triangle stand for the three nation theory of Bosnia, representing the people who make up the nation. These are the Croats, Bosniaks and Serbs. The white stars represent Europe and they are meant to be infinite in number.

Bosnia and Herzegovina Flag History:
The current Bosnian flag was adopted on Feb. 4, 1998. The country received its independence on Apr. 5, 1992. It was formerly one of six federal units constituting Yugoslavia. This Bosnian flag replaces one that was used from 1992 to 1998.

Interesting Bosnia and Herzegovina Flag Facts: Originally the Bosnian flag was to make use of the United Nations flag's blue color, but this was changed to a darker blue to correspond with the flag of the European Union.

World FlagsAlphabetical list of all world flags.
Bahamas FlagBahrain FlagBangladesh FlagBarbados FlagBelarus FlagBelgium FlagBelize FlagBenin FlagBermuda FlagBhutan FlagBolivia FlagBosnia FlagBotswana FlagBrazil FlagBrunei FlagBulgaria FlagBurkina FlagBurundi Flag
US State Flags
Canada Provincial Flags
Other Flags
US Military FlagsSports FlagsDecorative FlagsHoliday Flags
Flag AccessoriesFlag ClothesFlag PinsFlag CasesFlag PolesCustom FlagsBuntingBanners
Flag TerminologyFlag FAQAbout UsContact UsLink To UsPrivacy PolicyTerms of UseResourcesSitemap
World FlagsFlags of the WorldUS State FlagsCanada Provincial FlagsOther FlagsWorld Flags