Nepal Flag Colors, Meaning & History

Nepal flag
Color Palette
Red#DC143C220, 20, 600, 91, 73, 14
White#FFFFFF255, 255, 2550, 0, 0, 0
Blue#0038930, 56, 147100, 62, 0, 42

The Nepalese flag is composed of two stacked triangles, forming a shape known as a “double pennant.” The triangles are crimson red, bordered by a blue border around the triangles, and connecting them at the hoist side. In the center of the upper triangle, there is a white moon emitting eight rays and attached to a crescent, and in the center of the lower triangle, there is a white sun with 12 rays. It is the only non-quadrilateral flag in the world.

Meaning of the Nepalese Flag

The rhododendron, the country’s national flower, gives the flag its crimson red color. Red also symbolizes victory in war and the brave spirit of the Nepalese people. The blue border symbolizes peace and harmony in the country since the age of Gautama Buddha, who was born in Nepal. The two triangles symbolize the Himalayan Mountains and the two major religions, Hinduism and Buddhism. The sun and the moon represent permanence and hope that Nepal will last as long as the sun and the moon.

History of the Nepalese Flag

The Nepalese flag’s history dates back to the 18th century when King Prithvi Narayan Shah, the founder of modern Nepal, envisioned the flag’s design during meditation. Legend has it that he saw a unique shape atop a hill, which inspired the flag’s distinctive double pennant format. Initially, the flag featured only the crimson red color. Later, under the Rana dynasty, the blue border and the “moon and sun” symbols were added. The celestial symbols on the Nepalese flag, representing the sun and moon, originally had faces in their design. These faces were incorporated into the symbols during the Rana dynasty, which ruled Nepal from the mid-19th century to the mid-20th century. However, in 1962, the faces were removed from the sun and moon symbols. This change was made to modernize the flag’s design and to align with international heraldic standards. The flag underwent further modifications during Nepal’s transition to a constitutional monarchy. Finally, in 1962, the current design was officially adopted, symbolizing the unity, bravery, and cultural heritage of Nepal.