Equatorial Guinea Flag Colors, Meaning & History

Equatorial Guinea flag
Color Palette
Green#3B8C0459, 140, 458, 0, 97, 45
White#FFFFFF255, 255, 2550, 0, 0, 0
Red#E32118227, 33, 240, 85, 89, 11
Blue#0073CE0, 115, 206100, 44, 0, 19

The flag of Equatorial Guinea is made of three horizontal stripes colored green, white, and red. On the hoist side. There is a blue triangle, and in the center, there is the coat of arms of Equatorial Guinea, featuring a silk-cotton tree, with six small five-pointed yellow stars on top, and the motto of the country written in Spanish “Unidad, Paz, Justicia” which means “Unity, Peace, Justice”.

Meaning of the Flag of Equatorial Guinea

The blue color represents the sea that links different parts of the country. The green color represents agriculture and vegetation on which people depend to live. The white color stands for peace, and the red color represents the blood that was shed by martyrs struggling for liberation. The coat of arms represents the silk-cotton tree, under which the treaty was signed between Spain and a local leader. The six stars represent the five states of the country and its coastal territories. The motto stands for the values that Equatorial Guinea was established on.

History of the Equatorial Guinea Flag

In 1778, Equatorial Guinea became a Spanish colony. The Spanish rule continued till 1968 when Equatorial Guinea proclaimed its independence from Spain and president Francisco Nguema took power. The independence flag was horizontally striped, with green-white-red colors and a blue triangle on the hoist side. The coat of arms in the middle was different from the modern flag. He was overthrown from power in 1979, and the current coat of arms was added to the flag.  The new flag became official in 1979.