Ecuador Flag Colors, Meaning & History

Ecuador flag
Color Palette
Yellow#FFDD00255, 221, 00, 13, 100, 0
Blue#034EA23, 78, 16298, 52, 0, 36
Red#ED1C24237, 28, 360, 88, 85, 7

The Ecuadorian Flag has three horizontal stripes colored yellow, blue, and red from top to bottom. The yellow stripe at the top of the flag is wider than the blue and red stripes. The coat of arms adorns the center of the flag when used by the state, and is omitted for civil use. The coat of arms features a shield with a condor which is the national bird of Ecuador, the Chimborazo Mountain, the Guayas River, and the first seaworthy steamship built in Ecuador. The sun above the boat is surrounded by the Zodiac signs for March through July symbolizing the March Revolution of 1845. The condor above the crest spreads his wings in a gesture of power.

Meaning of the Ecuadorian Flag

 The red represents the blood shed by the soldiers and martyrs of the battles of Independence.  The blue symbolizes the ocean and the sky.  The yellow is for the abundance of gold and the fertility of the harvests and the land.

History of the Ecuadorian Flag

Like most South American countries, Ecuador resisted Spanish rule in the early 19th century.  The flag of Ecuador was inspired by General Francisco de Miranda, who was the father of South America’s independence, and who raised the tri-colored flag of yellow-red-blue in Venezuela. The flag of de Miranda  later became a common flag of Ecuador, Venezuela, and Columbia, known as Gran Colombia. The first known flag of Ecuador was created in 1822. It was a white flag with a white star on a blue canton. In 1845, it was replaced by a flag of white-blue-white horizontal stripes and three white stars that became 7 later. The current tricolored flag of yellow, blue, and red was adopted officially in 1860.