United Kingdom Flag Colors, Meaning & History

United Kingdom flag
Color Palette
Red#C10025193, 0, 370, 100, 81, 24
White#FFFFFF255, 255, 2550, 0, 0, 0
Blue#091C6B9, 28, 10792, 74, 0, 58

The Flag of the United Kingdom, also called the Union Flag or the Union Jack,  has a blue background with three crosses colored white and red merged on the blue field. The first red cross is the Cross of Saint George, the Saint Patron of England, the second white diagonal cross is the Saltire Cross of Saint Andrew, the Saint Patron of Scotland. The third red diagonal cross is the Saltire Cross of Saint Patrick, the Patron Saint of Ireland. A thin white border is added to the red crosses so that they do not touch the blue background, and resemble the real flags. 

Meaning of the United Kingdom Flag

The Union Flag, as its name indicates, represents the union between England, Scotland, and Northern Ireland, the countries that make up the United Kingdom. It is noteworthy that the dragon of Wales is not included in the United Kingdom flag, although it is also part of the United Kingdom.

History of the United kingdom Flag

The Union Flag was officially adopted in 1606 when Scotland and England became a united nation under the rule of the same Monarchy. The crosses of Saint George (England) and Saint Andrew (Scotland) were combined to symbolize the union between the two kingdoms under the rule of James VI . In 1801,  Ireland joined the United Kingdom, and the Saltire Cross of Saint Patrick was added to the flag. In addition to being the flag of the United Kingdom, it still appears on many flags of other countries such as Australia, New Zealand, and the US state of Hawaii. It is also part of the modern flags of previous British colonies that gained independence to show the ties to the United Kingdom.