Flag of Hawaii

State: Hawaii

Proportions: 1:2

Hawaiian Flag Description:
The flag of Hawaii consists of eight alternating equal sized horizontal stripes of white, red and blue. In the top left quarter is the British Union Jack flag.

Advertiser Links
[what's this?]

Hawaiian Flag Meaning:
The eight alternating stripes represent the eight main islands of Hawaii: Hawaii, Maui, Oahu, Kauai, Molokai, Lanai, Niihau and Kahoolawe. The Union Jack represents Hawaii's historical ties to Britain.

Hawaiian Flag History:
The flag was adopted for state use in 1959, when Hawaii became a state of the USA. Hawaii is the 50th state of the union, gaining statehood on Aug. 21, 1959. The flag is based on a design which was first adopted by the Kingdom of Hawaii in 1816. It was originally adopted by Hawaii on May 20, 1845. The current flag design dates from Apr. 8, 1896.

Interesting Hawaiian Facts:
Hawaii's state nickname is the Aloha State.

World FlagsAlphabetical list of all world flags.
American State Flags
Alabama AlaskaArizonaArkansasCalifornianColoradoConnecticutDelawareDistrict of ColumbiaFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentucky LouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth Carolina North DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming
US State Flags
Canada Provincial Flags
Other Flags
US Military FlagsSports FlagsDecorative FlagsHoliday Flags
Flag AccessoriesFlag ClothesFlag PinsFlag CasesFlag PolesCustom FlagsBuntingBanners
Flag TerminologyFlag FAQAbout UsContact UsLink To UsPrivacy PolicyTerms of UseResourcesSitemap
World FlagsFlags of the WorldUS State FlagsCanada Provincial FlagsOther FlagsWorld Flags