Flag of Northwest Territories

Northwest Territories

Proportions: 1:2

Northwest Territories Flag Description:
The flag of the Northwest Territories consists of three vertical stripes. The left and right stripes are blue and the middle is white. In the middle of the flag is the shield from the Territories' coat of arms.

Advertiser Links
[what's this?]

Northwest Territories Flag Meaning:
The blue stripes represent the lakes and waters of the Territories. The white stripe represents the north's ice and snow. The wavy blue line in the shield represents the Northwest Passage. The gold bars stand for the territory's mineral wealth and the white fox represents the fur industry.

Northwest Territories Flag History:
The flag was adopted on Jan. 1, 1969. The coat of arms was adopted in 1957. The Northwest Territories joined the Confederation of Canada on July 15, 1870.

Interesting Northwest Territories Facts:
Prior to 1870, The Northwest Territories were known as the North-Western Territory. The name refers to the location of the land.

The Northwest Territories has no official motto.

Robert Bessant of Margaret, Manitoba designed the flag. He was the winner of a nationwide competition held in 1968.

World FlagsAlphabetical list of all world flags.
Canadian Provincial Flags
AlbertaBritish ColumbiaManitobaNew BrunswickNewfoundland and LabradorNova ScotiaNunavut TerritoryNorthwest TerritoriesOntarioPrince Edward IslandQuebecSaskatchewanYukon Territory
US State Flags
Canada Provincial Flags
Other Flags
US Military FlagsSports FlagsDecorative FlagsHoliday Flags
Flag AccessoriesFlag ClothesFlag PinsFlag CasesFlag PolesCustom FlagsBuntingBanners
Flag TerminologyFlag FAQAbout UsContact UsLink To UsPrivacy PolicyTerms of UseResourcesSitemap
World FlagsFlags of the WorldUS State FlagsCanada Provincial FlagsOther FlagsWorld Flags